Horse Genetics and Genomics Workshop

Organised by a Standing Committee: YES NO

Meeting information

Date: July 3, 2023

Time: 14:00

Number of participants: 58

Chair

Name: Leslie Bickel

Affiliation: University of California Davis

Contact email: labickel@ucdavis.edu

Co-Chair (optional)

Name: Tomasz Zabek

Affiliation: National Research Institute of Animal Production, Krakow, Poland

Contact email: tomasz.zabek@iz.edu.pl



Agenda

Standing committee members:

Leslie Bickel (co-chair) Tomasz Zabek (co-chair) Filipe Avala Samantha Brooks Carrie Finno Robin Everts Sebastián Demyda-Peyrás

Introduction (10 minutes)

FAANG Update. J.L. Petersen,

The epigenetic landscape of the satellite-free centromere of horse chromosome 11. E Cappelletti

Genomics of Thoroughbred stallion subfertility. Caitlin Castaneda

Whole Genome Trio Sequencing to Reveal the Genetics of Equine Microphthalmia. Iryna Shutava

Changes in the gene expression profile of equine mesenchymal stem cells (MSC) after their allogeneic administration in horses matched or mismatched for the major histocompatibility complex (MHC). A Cequier

A missense mutation of BCHE promotes the butyrylcholinesterase activity in Chinese horses. yanli zhang

Identification of personality-related genes associated with tractability of handling in Thoroughbred horses. Tamu Yokomori

Invited Workshop Presentation: A Resource for Documenting and Tracking Genetic Diversity in US Thoroughbred Horses. T.S. Kalbfleisch

Construction of genome-wide INDEL database, application to a parentage-test using INDELs for horse registration, and a gene-editing test for doping control. Teruaki Tozaki

General Bussiness

Meeting Close



Summary of the meeting

It was a well-attended meeting. All workshop podium presentations were done in person. Talks went well and generated many good questions. Finally there were 20 minutes allocated at the end of the meeting for questions, comments, and announcements.

New Committee chair

Chair:

Term of service (add years of first and second term of service):

Affiliation:

E-mail address:

New Committee co-chair (optional)

Chair:

Term of service (add years of first and second term of service):

Affiliation:

E-mail address:

Note: One term runs for two bi-annual conferences (i.e. four years)



Committee members

| Other committee members | First term of service (from year to year) | Second term of service (from year to year) | Email address |
|----------------------------|---|---|-------------------------|
| Robin Everts | 2023-2027 | | reverts@etalondx.com |
| Sebastián Demyda-Peyrás | 2023-2027 | | ge2depes@uco.es |
| Filipe Avala | 2021-2025 | | ffavila@ucdavis.edu |
| Samantha Brooks | 2021-2025 | | samantha.brooks@ufl.edu |
| Carrie Finno | 2021-2025 | | cjfinno@gmail.com |
| Tomasz Zabek | 2019-2023 | 2023-2027 | tomasz.zabek@iz.edu.pl |
| Leslie Bickel | 2019-2023 | 2023-2027 | labickel@ucdavis.edu |