

## **Domestic Animal Epigenetics**

Organised by a standing committee yes

Date and meeting time: July 25th, 2016; 2:00 pm-5:30pm

Chair, name and contact email: Hasan Khatib; email: hkhatib@wisc.edu

## Agenda / programme

Hasan Khatib: introduction

14:00-14:45 Ross Tellam (keynote speaker), CSIRO, Australia.

A hierarchy of epigenetic changes in the developmental transition from brown to white perirenal adipose tissue.

14:45-15:15 **Kyle Schachtschneider**, Wageningen University, Wageningen, Netherlands.

The conserved functional role of non-CpG methylation in mammalian and avian brain.

15:15 Business meeting and elections.

15:30-16:00 Break.

16:00-16:30 James Koltes, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

Mining functional genomics and epigenetics data with livestock EpidB.

16:30-17:00 Stefan Hiendleder, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia,

Polar overdominance and maternal genome effects in placenta drive heterosis in utero.

17:00-17:30 **Mette Jacobsen**, University of Copenhagen.

Adipocyte gene expression and DNA methylation patterns differ significantly between lean and obese pigs.

Number of participants at meeting: 100

## Summary of the meeting including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

The workshop included five invited speakers representing different disciplines in animal epigenetics. The speaker were selected to represent different species and different institutions. Due the new funding policy of ISAG we were able to invite a keynote speaker Dr. Ross Tellam. During the bushiness meeting, it was suggested to change the name of the workshop from Domestic Animal Epigenetics workshop to Animal Epigenetics workshop. The attendees voted in favour of this change. Then, the name change was approved by the general meeting of ISAG. Also, a new standing committee was elected during the business meeting (see next section)

## **Committee members** (the new committee)

Chair: term of service: E mail address:

Stephanie McKay 2016-2019 <u>Stephanie.McKay@uvm.edu</u>

Other members

Hasan Khatib 2016-2019 <u>hkhatib@wisc.edu</u>

Alison Ward 2016-2019 alison.ward@ndsu.edu