## ISAG

## INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR ANIMAL GENETICS

## ISAG Conference 2006, Porto Seguro, Brazil

## **Equine Genetics Standing Committee Workshop**

The Workshop for Equine Genetics and Parentage Testing Standardization was held on August 20 from 16:15 to 18:15. The Chair welcomed participants ad went over the agenda for the afternoon. The first order of business was discussion of the 2005/2006 Horse Comparison Test. The duty lab report prepared by G. Perrotta (Italy) was read by G. Cothran (USA). C. Penado (USA) from the analysis lab reported on the results. As usual all experienced labs performed well.

A discussion about reporting CT test results to the International Stud Book Commission followed and other stud book authorities that labs did testing for. There were concerns that CT results should be kept confidential, however, it was recognized that registries had a need for this type of information as well. In general the consensus was that a more detailed report to stud books should be done.

Several excellent talks were made at the workshop. These were

Diversity and performance of a standard set of 17 microsatellites for paternity testing in Brazilian Crioulo, Campolina and Thoroughbred horses —Dario Grattapaglia, Genomax/Hereditas Tecnologia em Analise de DNA, Brasilia, DF, Brazil.

Equine Genotyping: Minimizing the risk of parentage errors - Wim A van Haeringen, Dr. Van Haeringen Laboratorium BV, Wageningen, The Netherlands.

Development of Mutagenically-Separated PCR Assays for Equine Genetic Screening –Ann E.O. Trezise, Australian Equine Genetics research centre & School of Biomedical Sciences, University of Queensland, St. Lucia, QLD, Australia.

Molecular and evolutionary study of genetic variability in Equids DRA gene-Silvina Diaz, CIGEBA, Facultad Ciencias Veterinarias, Universidad Nacional de La Plata, La Plata, Argentina

There also was a discussion about the use of SNPs for parentage testing. It was decided that a committee should be formed to investigate various aspects of SNP typing. The committee was G. Cothran, W. van Haeringen, C. Penado, E. Bailey, and M. Koskinen . The committee will make a report at a later data.

The meeting ended with elections for a new standing committee. The members are A. Guthrie (Chair), L. Millon, A. Trezise, S. Mikko, R. Morran, and T. Tozaki.