# **Pig Genetics and Genomics**

Organised by a standing committee: YES NO

## **Meeting information**

Date: Tuesday 9 July 2019

Time: 9:00 - 12:30

Number of participants: 130+

#### Chair

Name: Kyle Schachtschneider and Romi Pena

Affiliation: University of Illinois (USA) and University of Lleida (Spain)

Contact email: kschach2@uic.edu and romi.pena@ca.udl.cat

### **Agenda**

Time	First	Author name	Presentation topic	Presentation
	name	Author name	1 resentation topic	n.
9:00	Alan	Archibald	Suina genomes and phylogenomics	79995
9:15	Martien	Groenen	Loss of function mutations in the pig causing embryonic lethality	80186
9:30	Annie	Robic	Pig transcriptome analysis suggests a global regulation mechanism enabling temporary bursts of circular RNAs	77846
9:45	Ryan	Corbett	Characterization of A-to-I editing events in fetal pig tissues	79845
10:00	Adeniyi	Adeola	Whole-genome sequencing reveals population structure and diversity of Nigerian indigenous pigs	
10:15	Julia	Paris	Genetic heterogeneity of wattles in sheep and pigs	80039



10:30	Break			
11:00	Langqing	Liu	The little Pygmy hog (Porcula salvania), a big piece in resolving fascinating history of the complex speciation of the Suidae	79684
11:15	Stefanie	Kurtz	Sexing in pigs by using gene editing	80093
11:30	Marco	Moroldo	Integrative genomics analysis of blood and microbiota data suggests a NAFLD-related disorder in SLAdd minipigs	79880
11:45	Alex	Clop	A first insight into the boar sperm microbiome	80116
12:00	Elisabeth	Jonas	Gene editing for resistance against diseases in pigs— What are the consequences of alternative strategies?	80055
12:15			Business Meeting and Elections	

#### Summary of the meeting

Presentations and discussion led by: Amanda Warr and Andreia J. Amaral

The Committee chairs (K. Schachtschneider, and R. Pena) organized the workshop in collaboration with the other standing committee members (A. Warr, A. J. Amaral). Speakers selection and presenting order was agreed upon by all committee members. While preparing for the workshop, it was decided that the "younger" members (A. Warr and A. J. Amaral) would take the role of organizers and lead the workshop session. This was communicated to participants by K. Schachtschneider when introducing the workshop session. In addition, efforts were made to contact ISAG members to identify individuals interested in joining the standing committee.

The first half of the workshop was led by A. Warr and the second half including the business meeting and elections was conducted by A. J Amaral and K. Schachtschneider.

Business Meeting: During the business meeting workshop participants were asked their opinion on whether they were interested in keeping the workshop in the current format (15 or 30 minute presentations), or whether they were open to including a block of shorter talks (10 minute presentations). Participants were interested in such a format, and even suggested having a combination of 5 and 10 minute talks. In addition, the group agreed that this format would be ideal if a block of time (~1 hr) was designated for these talks across all workshops so that presentation formats remain uniform across concurrent workshops. Finally concerns were raised regarding the size of the room provided for the workshop, as all the seats (~90) were full with people standing on the sides of the room and out the door for the entirety of the workshop. They suggested the workshop be provided a larger room moving forward to reflect the interest generated, based on availability and anticipated size of other workshops scheduled at the same time. Note that participation was greater than past conferences, likely due to the scheduling of the Animal Epigenetics workshop at a different time. The continued scheduling of these



workshops at different times would be ideal, as there is considerable overlap in participation between the two.

Elections: K. Schachtschneider and R. Pena are halfway through their second 4-year term, with their commitment finishing in 2021. A. J. Amaral and A. Warr are halfway through their first 4-year term, and will be up for re-election in 2021. Three new committee members were nominated and approved by the workshop participants: Yaofeng Zhao from the China Agricultural University, Shuhong Zhao from the Huazhong Agricultural University, and Daniel Ciobanu from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Finally the committee approved A. J. Amaral and A. Warr as the new co-chairs, with R. Pena and K. Schachtschneider staying on as committee members until the end of their term in 2021.

All the current members of the standing committee will work with the co-chairs to organize the workshop for the ISAG 2021 conference, based on selection of submitted abstracts. The members are also encouraged to propose speakers to the organizers of the next ISAG conference.

### Committee chair (the new chair)

Co-Chair: Amanda Warr

Term of service: 2021

Affiliation: Roslin Institute, Scotland, UK

E-mail address: amanda.warr@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Co-Chair: Andreia J Amaral

Term of service: 2021

Affiliation: University of Lisbon, Portugal

E-mail address: andreiaamaral@fmv.ulisboa.pt



# Committee members (the new committee)

Other members	Term of service	E mail address
Kyle Schachtschneider	2021	kschach2@uic.edu
Romi N. Pena	2021	romi.pena@ca.udl.cat
Daniel Ciobanu	2023	dciobanu@unl.edu
Shuhong Zhao	2023	shzhao@mail.hzau.edu.cn
Yaofeng Zhao	2023	06003h@cau.edu.cn

**SIGNATURES** 

**Chair - K Schachtschneider** 

Chair - RN Pena