

# **Pig Genetics & Genomics**

Organised by a Standing Committee: YES NO

### **Meeting information**

Date: 28th July 2921

Time: 12:30am CDT

Number of participants: 126 simultaneous live participants at peak.

2019 in-person meeting numbers: 130+

#### Co-Chair

Name: Amanda Warr

Affiliation: The Roslin Institute, University of Edinburgh

Contact email: amanda.warr@roslin.ed.ac.uk

#### Co-Chair

Name: Andraia J. Amaral

Affiliation: University of Lisbon

Contact email: andreiaamaral@fmv.ulisboa.pt

#### Agenda

- 12:30am: Business Meeting & Elections
- 12:45am: W159 Zhangyan Pan- Pig Genome Functional Annotation enhances biological interpretations of complex traits and comparative epigenomics
- 1:05am: W160 Siriluck Ponsuksili- Alteration of expression of miRNA and mRNA transcripts in fetal muscle tissue in the context of sex, mother and variable fetal weight
- 1:25am: W161 Yejee Park- Time Serial Ovarian Transcriptome Analysis for Entire Porcine Estrous Cycle Reveals Changes of Steroid Metabolism and Corpus Luteum Development
- 1:45am W162 Daniel Crespo-Piazuelo- Identifying muscle transcriptional regulatory elements in the pig genome
- 2:05am: Break
- 2:20am: W163 Maria Muñoz- Characterization of circulating microRNAs profile in Iberian pigs with and without heat stress
- 2:40am: W164 John King Layos- Historical biogeography of Philippine native pigs and the perplexing mitochondrial DNA variation in Philippine wild pigs
- 3:00am: W165 Giuseppina Schiavo- The genomic inbreeding trends in Italian heavy pig breeds over the last 25 years
- 3:20am: W166 Lel Eory- The Common Warthog (Phacochoerus africans) reference genome and sequence variation
- 4:10am W167 Martijn Derks- A pan-genome of commercial pig breeds

### Summary of the meeting

Pre-break session and business meeting lead by Amanda Warr, post-break session lead by Andreia J. Amaral.

During the business meeting Andreia J. Amaral and Amanda Warr were re-elected for second terms on the standing committee. Following previous discussions between the standing committee members two new members were nominated for election to the standing committee, Gary Rohrer and Catherine Larzul. These were approved by the workshop participants. This year is the final year of commitment from Romi Pena and Kyle Schachtsneider and they were thanked for their service on the committee.

Discussion from the previous meeting in Lleida was revisited- previously we had decided to have some shorter talks during the workshop aimed at ERCs. Due to organising the online session being more complicated this was not implemented this year, but will be for the next in-person meeting. We had also talked about trying to secure a larger room, this again is irrelevant to the current meeting but will be

relevant to the next in-person meeting. The intention is to base these requirements on in-person

attendance from the 2019 meeting, however we present both the 2019 and 2021 numbers to demonstrate

requirements for room size in South Africa.

Recommendations were sought for possible plenary speakers for the next conference however no

suggestions were made.

Members were asked to bring up any other business, however no further discussions were raised.

Attendees were instructed on how to ask questions and to keep their mics off during talks. Attendees were

reminded to visit the 32 pig genetic and genomics posters and listen to the associated short talks.

Talks proceeded as described in the agenda.

#### **New Committee co-chair**

Chair: Daniel Ciobanu

Term of service (add years of first and second term of service): First: 2019-2023

Affiliation: University of Nebraska-Lincoln

E-mail address: dciobanu@unl.edu

## New Committee co-chair (optional)

Chair: Amanda Warr

Term of service (add years of first and second term of service): First: 2017-2021, Second 2021-2025

Affiliation: University of Edinburgh

E-mail address: amanda.warr@roslin.ed.ac.uk

Note: One term runs for two bi-annual conferences (i.e. four years)

### **New Committee members**

Other committee members	First term of service (from year to year)	Second term of service (from year to year)	Email address
Daniel Ciobanu	2019-2023		dciobanu@unl.edu
Shuhong Zhao	2019-2023		shzhao@mail.hzau.edu.cn
Yaofeng Zhao	2019-2023		06003h@cau.edu.cn
Gary Rohrer	2021-2025		gary.rohrer@usda.gov
Catherine Larzul	2021-2025		catherine.larzul@inrae.fr
Amanda Warr	2017-2021	2021-2025	amanda.warr@roslin.ed.ac.uk
Andreia Amaral	2017-2021	2021-2025	andreiaamaral@fmv.ulisboa.pt

### **SIGNATURES**

**Chair- Amanda Warr** 

**Chair- Andreia Amaral**