

Ruminant Genetics and Genomics

STANDING COMMITTEES / WORKSHOPS Information will be posted online		
Organi	sed by a standing committee	yes X no
Date and meeting time: Tuesday 17 th July 2012		
Chair, name and contact email: Fiona Buchanan, Fiona.buchanan@usask.ca		
Agenda 2.00	d / programme James Kijas (Australia)	Whole genome sequencing of 75 sheep for variant detection and design of an HD chip
2.30	Tad Sonstegard (USA) beneath?	Lethal haplotypes in dairy cattle: What lies
3.00	Marina Fortes (Australia)	Mutations in the <i>PLAG1</i> region are associated with height, weight, puberty, IGF1 levels and fat deposition in beef cattle.
3.15	Business meeting	
3.30	Coffee	
4.00	Fiona Buchanan (Canada)	Nutrigenetics of vitamin A supplementation and <i>ADH1C</i> genotype on intramuscular fat in feedlot cattle.
4.15	Michael Lee (New Zealand) sheep of data with significant sa	GWAS of economically important traits in NZ ample structure.
4.30	Akiko Takasuga (Japan)	Re-analysis of the CW-1 QTL revealed the PLAG1-CHCHD7 QTN for stature in Japanese Black cattle
4.45	Ana Maria O'Brien (Austria) linkage disequilibrium of <i>taurin</i>	Finding selection sweeps through variation in ne and indicine cattle
5.00	Pauline Brenaut (France)	Contribution of mammary epithelial cells to the immune response during early stages of a bacterial intramammary infection.
5.15	Emma Svensson (Sweden)	Prehistoric cattle breeding.

Number of participants at meeting: 110-150

Summary of the meeting including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

The standing committee was requested ahead of the meeting to assemble a list of workshop attendees. An initial list of 60 was generated by the committee but sign up sheets were handed out during the workshop to elicit additional names. This process generated an additional 67 names. The purpose of this list is to provide the committee with suggestions of presentations for the workshop and any other issues arising that should be discussed at the business meeting.

Standing committee – Cattle, Sheep and Goat gene mapping workshop

Current Committee

Fiona Buchanan (2008) Rachael Hawken (2008) Hassan Khatib (2008) Tad Sonstegard (2010) Steve Moore (2010)

Retiring members (four year term completed)

Rachael Hawken Hassan Khatib Fiona Buchanan

Nominations for new members from the floor.

James Kijas was nominated by Rachael Hawken Magda Benavides was nominated by Tad Sonstegard

The workshop was unanimous in electing James Kijas and Magda Benavides to the standing committee

Workshop adjourned.

Committee members

Chair James Kijas term of service 2012 - 2016

E mail address: James.Kijas@csiro.au

Other members term of service:
Tad Sonstegard 2010 - 2014
Steve Moore 2010 - 2014
Magda Benavides 2012 - 2016