

Animal Forensic Genetics Workshop

STANDING COMMITTEES / WORKSHOPS

Information will be posted online

Organised by a standing committee yes no

Date and meeting time:

Friday, August 1st, 10:15 am - 12:30 pm

Chair, name and contact email:

Sree Kanthaswamy, skanthaswamy@ucdavis.edu

Agenda / programme attached	Agenda /	programme attached
-----------------------------	----------	--------------------

Speaker	Presentation title
Sree Kanthaswamy (Chair)	Welcome and Introductions
Rebecca Johnson (Australia)	DNA Detectives in Wildlife Forensic Science – Past, Present and Future
Guillermo Giovambattista (Argentina)	Proposals for the Animal Forensic Genetics Committee for the coming years
Business Meeting:	 Welcome address Election of new chairperson, and committee members Other Business: Membership approval of Standing Committee Goals Meeting ends

Number of participants at meeting: 56

Summary of the meeting including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

Dr Leanne van de Goor recused herself from the committee. Dr Kanthaswamy has served as Chairperson for eight years, the recommended term limit for standing committee membership and chairship. Based on the votes take during the meeting, Dr Kanthaswamy will serve on the committee for another four-year term. Workshop participants also elected four new standing committee members, Drs Rebecca Johnson, Denise Aparecida Andrade de Oliveira, Torsten Brendel and Haifa Khoory. The new members of the Standing Committee elected Dr Giovambatista as their new Chair. The new committee members were informed that non-ISAG members can participate in workshops, but cannot serve as members of the standing committee. They were also told that if an elected standing committee member is not a current member of the Society, the Chair has to either terminate their standing committee membership, or the newly elected standing committee member needs to enroll as a member of the Society.

The invited speaker, Dr Rebecca Johnson, gave a presentation titled "DNA Detectives in Wildlife Forensic Science – Past, Present and Future". The second speaker, Dr Giovambatista proposed several future goals for the Standing Committee in his presentation titled "Proposals for the Animal Forensic Genetics Committee for the coming years". The two goals that were proposed were: 1) The implementation of a DNA based comparison test for species identification of questioned biological samples, and 2) Requesting permission from ISAG to include a webpage with Animal Forensic Genetics information linked to the main ISAG website. This link would allow any ISAG member to access and update information as well as to answer inquiries relevant to animal forensic genetics including references, guidelines, protocols, databases, frequency data, information of experts, etc. Both these goals were motioned, seconded and discussed at the meeting, and both motions carried. Consequently, the new Standing Committee has agreed to move ahead with the proposed goals including making the necessary arrangements to communicate these goals with the Society.

Committee members (the new committee)

Chair	term of service	E mail address:
Guillermo Giovambattista	2010-17	ggiovam@fcv.unlp.edu.ar
Other members	term of service	E mail address:
Corinne Cherbonnel	2010-17	ccherbonnel@genindexe.com,
Romy Morrin	2010-17	rmorrin@weatherbys.ie,
Sean Corley	2010-17	s.corley@uq.edu.au
Sree Kanthaswamy	2006-17	skanthaswamy@ucdavis.edu
Rebecca Johnson	2014-17	Rebecca.Johnson@austmus.gov.au
Denise Aparecida Andrade de Oliver	ira 2014-17	denise.evufmg@gmail.com
Torsten Brendel Haifa Khoory	2014-17 2014-17 2014-17	TorstenBrendel@eurofins.com haifakhoory@hotmail.com