

# **Animal Forensic Genetics Workshop**

#### STANDING COMMITTEES / WORKSHOPS

Organised by a standing committee yes

Date and meeting time: Sunday, July 24, 14:00 pm - 17:30 pm.

**Chair, name and contact email:** Guillermo Giovambattista, guillermogiovambattista@gmail.com / ggiovam@fcv.unlp.edu.ar

### Agenda / programme attached

Speaker	Presentation title	Duration
		(min.)
G Giovambattista (Chair)	Welcome and Introductions	10
R. A. Grahn, C. D. Lindquist, and C. Penedo	(id=14999) DOMESTIC ANIMAL FORENSICS AT THE UC DAVIS VETERINARY GENETICS LABORATORY.	15
J. Qiu, B. Simpson, L. Kock, J. Donner, C. Cole, S. Davison, M. Dunn, D. Bannasch, and A. Boyko	(id=14879) Evaluation of single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) markers for canine parentage analysis.	15
B. Brenig and E. Schütz	(id=14176) Hitchhiking Effects influence Allele Frequencies and Exclusion Probabilities of Microsatellites used for Parentage Control in Holstein Friesian Cattle.	15
A. Fornal, A. Piestrzynska- Kajtoch, and A. Radko	(id=14700) Construction of the SNP panel for Hucul horse parentage control based on the OpenArray platform.	
S. Nohzadeh-Malakshah, V. Joshi, and A. Pirani	(id=14749) Application of analysis tools from Affymetrix on Eureka™ Genotyping Solution to provide accurate and automated animal genotypes.	15
		15

Guillermo Giovambattista (Argentina)	Proposals for the Animal Forensic Genetics Committee for the coming years	10
Business Meeting:	1. Welcome address	15
	2. Other Business: Membership approval of	
	Standing Committee Goals	
	3. Meeting ends	

#### Number of participants at meeting: ~80

**Summary of the meeting** including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

The current Committee was established in 2014 and members whose terms of service that are 4 years or more will undergo reelection at the next ISAG Conference in Dublin in 2017. Dr Giovambatista (Chair) gave the introductions and welcomed the guest speakers. The four speakers, who also presented their posters at the conference, gave their oral presentations as detailed in the Workshop Agenda. Dr Giovambatista proposed two future goals for the Standing Committee: 1) The implementation of a DNA based comparison test for species identification of questioned biological samples, and 2) The request for permission from ISAG to include a webpage on Animal Forensic Genetics that will be linked to the main ISAG website. Dr Giovambatista presented the draft of the website (http://igevet.fcv.unlp.edu.ar/forensicsite/index.php/Animal Forensic Genetics website). The site would allow Animal Forensic Genetics Standing Committee members to access and update information as well as respond to inquiries relevant to animal forensic genetics including references, guidelines, protocols, databases, frequency data, information of experts, etc. Dr Kanthaswamy proposed to include a Comparison Test (CT). For the proposed CT, a domestic dog (Canis familairis) reference sample (of known breed and STR profile) and diluted and/or degraded from several aliquots of samples from the reference sample will be included for DNA quantitation and profiling. One sample from an unknown species will be also included for species determination in the CT. Therefore, the aims of the test will be to: 1. identify the species origin of the samples, 2. determine and compare the genetic profile of dog samples (original, diluted and degraded). Eurofins Genomics Laboratory in Germany was designated as the Duty Laboratory and 13 laboratories have expressed their interested in participating in the CT. To facilitate the CT for standardized STR profiling, Thermo Fisher, represented by Dr Chris Adams their Assoc. Director of Product Management (Animal Health/Agrigenomics Division), offered to send out the FinnZymes Canine DNA STR Amplification kit to all 13 labs which are participating in the CT.

Both these goals were motioned, seconded and discussed at the meeting, and both motions carried. Consequently, the Standing Committee has agreed to move ahead with the proposed goals including making the necessary arrangements to communicate these goals with the Society.

## Committee members (the new committee)

Chair	term of service	E mail address:
Guillermo Giovambattista	6	ggiovam@fcv.unlp.edu.ar
Other members	term of service	E mail address:
Denise Aparecida Andrade de Olive	ira 2	denise.evufmg@gmail.com
Torsten Brendel	2	TorstenBrendel@eurofins.com
Corinne Cherbonnel	6	ccherbonnel@genindexe.com,
Sean Corley	6	s.corley@uq.edu.au
Rebecca Johnson	2	Rebecca.Johnson@austmus.gov.au
Sree Kanthaswamy	10	skanthaswamy@ucdavis.edu
Haifa Khoory	2	haifakhoory@hotmail.com
Romy Morrin	6	rmorrin@weatherbys.ie,