

Genetics of Immune Response and Disease Resistance

STANDING COMMITTEES / WORKSHOPS

Organised by a standing committee: yes

Date and meeting time: Sunday, July 24, 2016, 14:00-17:30

Chair, name and contact email: Stephen White, swhite@vetmed.wsu.edu, Stephen.White@ars.usda.gov

Co-Chair: Huaijun Zhou, hzhou@ucdavis.edu

Agenda / programme attached

Number of participants at meeting: 120

Summary of the meeting including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

We thank the speakers for excellent presentations and attendees for stimulating questions and discussion.

We thank the IFAG for funding our Workshop Keynote speaker application for Dr. Dirk Werling's presentation that greatly expanded the scope, attendance, and discussion in our workshop.

The Genetics of the Immune Response and Disease Resistance standing committee strongly supports continued funding opportunities for Workshop Keynote speakers in future conferences as a valuable tool for enhancing workshop quality and augmenting the overall ISAG conference experience for attendees.

Our Lightning Round to highlight contributions from early career stage investigators was a wellreceived success. We used bursary eligible status as a useful measure of early career stage, and we thank the conference organizers for continuing to make this information available to facilitate Lightning Round invitations.

We thank the conference organizers for doing an outstanding job in scheduling workshops to avoid time overlaps between workshops of interest to a common group of participants within ISAG.

We had a good discussion on the introduction of e-posters at this conference. Overall, we felt that ISAG 2016 did a better job of incorporating e-posters than other conferences some members

had attended. Four recommendations for future ISAG conferences that may include e-posters are:

- A) Please post final poster submission deadlines well in advance and possibly on the instructions page for abstract submission prior to the abstract deadline.
- B) Please make the page limits very clear for posters as the variation in poster sizes led to some confusion.
- C) Enlarge the time window for each poster session because one hour sessions were found too short
- D) Please consider an e-service of the conference that would include password-protected online access to posters for registered conference attendees only. Such a service would partially compensate for the limited time that e-posters are displayed during the conference and may facilitate additional discussion and conference interactions.

We thank outgoing committee member and past chair Dr. Claire Rogel-Gaillard for her service over the last several conference cycles.

We welcome new standing committee members Dr. Karel Novak and Sabine Hammer.

Finally, we elected Dr. Graham Plastow as Vice Chair (future chair).

Committee members (the new committee)

Chair	term of service	E mail address:
Huaijun Zhou	2019	hzou@ucdavis.edu
		T 11 11
Other members	term of service	E mail address:
Graham Plastow (Vice Chair)	2023	plastow@ualberta.ca
Keith Ballingall	2017 <u>keith</u> .	ballingall@moredun.ac.uk
Chris Tuggle	2017	cktuggle@iastate.edu
Yaofeng Zhang	2017	yaofengzhao@cau.edu.cn
John Williams	2017 <u>john.</u>	williams01@adelaide.edu.au
Karel Novak	2023	novak.karel@vuzv.cz
Sabine Hammer	2023 <u>sabir</u>	e.hammer@phylo-dat.net
Stephen White (Past Chair)	2017	swhite@vetmed.wsu.edu