

# **Horse Genetics and Genomics**

Organised by a standing committee: YES

## **Meeting information**

Date: Monday July 8

Time: 14.30-18.00

Number of participants: 60

#### Chair

Name: Tomas Bergström

Affiliation: Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)

Contact email: tomas.bergtrom@slu.se

#### **Agenda**

14:30	T. Raudsepp	The horse X chromosome: Old tricks, new insights
14:45	X. Liu	Whole-genome sequencing reveals the genetic mechanisms underlying the high altitude adaptation in Tibetan horses
15.00	D. Vélez- Irizarry	Upstream regulators of gene and protein expression influencing glycogen repletion in horses.
15.15	E. Giulotto	Neocentromere formation and karyotype evolution in equids
15.30	T. Zabek	Methylome sequencing of tissues and cell-lines of Polish Coldblood horses
15.45	K. de Silva	Identification of shared and species-specific k-mers in Equids and Caballines to characterize adaptive introgression events
16.00-		Coffee/Tea break
16.30		
16.30	X. Liu	An ancient mutation at TBX3 enhancer contributes to the small body size in Chinese ponies



16.45	T. Tozaki	Genetic diversity and relationships among native Japanese horse breeds and
		horses outside of Japan using ge- nome-wide SNP data
17.00	C. Castañeda	Genomic studies of stallion fertility: Comparing fertility records with FKBP6
		genotype and copy numbers of Y multi-copy genes
17.15	E. Bailey	Population structure analysis of the Persian horse breeds and their comparison
		to worldwide populations using genome-wide SNP genotypes.
17.30		Business Meeting

### Summary of the meeting

Including votes, decisions taken and plans for future conferences

The workshop was very well attended with about 60 participants.

Three members of the standing committee, Doug Antczak, Carrie Finno and Bianca Waud were at the end of their elected term and two of the members, Tomas Bergström and Ted Kalbfleisch were elected at the last meeting to serve until 2021. At the business meeting Leslie Bickel and Tomasz Zabek were nominated and unanimously elected to serve for a four-year term (2019-2023). Tomas Bergström had served as the workgroup chair from 2017-2019 and Ted Kalbfleisch served as the co-chair for the same period. At the 2017 meeting, Ted Kalbfleisch was nominated chair unanimously elected to chair the standing committee from 2019-2021. Tomas Bergström was nominated and unanimously elected to co-chair from 2019-2021.

#### Committee chair (the new chair)

Chair: Ted Kalbfleisch

Term of service: 2019-2021

Affiliation: University of Kentucky

E-mail address: ted.kalbfleisch@uky.edu

Committee members (the new committee)



		A	
INILIIMIIVIME	UUUILI I IUII		ULILLIUU

Other members	Term of service	E mail address
Tomas Bergström	2017-2021	tomas.bergstrom@slu.se
Leslie Bickel	2019-2023	labickel@ucdavis.edu
Tomasz Zabek	2019-2023	tomasz.zabek@iz.edu.pl