

Ruminant Genetics and Genomics

Organised by	a standing committee	yes
--------------	----------------------	-----

Date and meeting time: Monday July 25th 8:30 am – 12:00 noon

Chair: James Kijas. Contact: James.Kijas@csiro.au

Number of participants at meeting: 80 - 120

Workshop Program

Time	Author name	Presentation topic	Abstract
8:30 - 8:45	Worley	Sheep reference genome sequence updates: Texel improvements and Rambouillet progress.	P1009
8:45 - 9:00	Beiki	Large-scale gene co-expression network as a source of functional annotation for bovine genes	P3040
9:00 - 9:15	Chamberlain	The extent of cis-regulation of gene expression and its influence on complex trait variation in cattle	P3003
9:15 – 9:30	Porto-Neto	The effect of selection over years on breed composition in tropical composite cattle	P5060
9:30 - 10:00	Naval	Changing patterns of genomic variability following	Invited
	Sanchez	domestication of sheep	S0125
		Break	
10:30 - 10:45	Wilkinson	Host genetics of resistance to bovine tuberculosis infection in dairy cows	P6019
10:45 - 11:00	Engle	Genome-wide association study for stayability measures in Nellore-Angus crossbred cows	P5056
11:00 - 11:15	Coussé	Tackling the itch: GWAS-based candidate genes for psoroptic mange sensitivity in Belgian Blue cattle	P6038
11:15 - 11:30	Lühken	Indel polymorphism in 3'-UTR of RXFP2 does not segregate with horns status in sheep breeds with a variable and/or sex-limited horns status	P5021

11:30 - 11:45	Wehrhahn	Holstein Friesian lethal haplotype 5 is caused by a	P6024
		138kbp deletion on chromosome 9. C. Wehrhahn	F0024
11:45 - 12:00	Heaton	Using diverse U.S. beef cattle genomes to identify	
		missense mutations in EPAS1, a gene associated	P6026
		with high-altitude pulmonary hypertension	

Notes

Speakers did an excellent job keeping to time, but the schedule meant only limited opportunities for audience questions. In general, having a higher number of short talks worked well and offered a diversity in science perspectives that was well received.

Business Meeting

Prior to the commencement of the program, the Chair indicated he was stepping down and encouraged participation in the business meeting to elect new members to the Standing Committee.

To commence the business meeting, the chair detailed the membership and status of the Standing Committee leading into the Salt Lake City meeting as follows:

2016 Salt Lake Committee

Chair: James Kijas (stepping down at 2016 meeting)

Committee Members:

Tad Sonstegard - term ends 2017 George Liu - term ends 2017 Magda Benevides - term ends 2016

A two-step process then followed which first sought nominations for two open positions on the committee, followed by election of a new Chair.

To identify new committee members, nominations were sought from the floor followed by rounds of voting. This identified a tie for the second slot, and the chair decided to proceed with both candidates. The result is election of three new committee members as detailed below.

A single nomination was received from the floor for the open position of Chair. The candidate received the unanimous support of the business meeting and was subsequently elected.

At the conclusion of the process, the new Standing Committee membership is as follows:

New Committee going forwards to 2017

Chair: Laercio Porto Neto (newly elected chair)

Committee Members:

Tad Sonstegard - term ends 2017 George Liu - term ends 2017 Heather Huson (newly elected member) Michelle Mousel (newly elected member) Shannon Clarke (newly elected member) Laercio.Portoneto@csiro.au

Tad@recombinetics.com george.liu@ars.usda.gov hjh3@cornell.edu Mousel@vetmed.wsu.edu Shannon.Clarke@agresearch.co.nz

Workshop adjourned.

and file

Dr James Kijas September 2016